Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

05/10/2012

SIMPLE AND DEEP

Scripture:

"The entrance of your words give light;
it gives understanding to the simple."
Psalm 119:130

Reflection:

There was a Minister flying to the West
Coast who struck up a conversation with
the passenger next to him. "What's your
occupation?" He asked. His seatmate
replied, "I'm a professor of astronomy. And
what about you?" "I'm a pastor," the
Minister answered.

The astronomers shifted a bit in his seat
and then confessed, "I used to attend
church when I was young, but my wife
and I don't go very often now. But the way
I look at it, the Bible is pretty simple. It
all boils down to 'Get along with your neighbors
and stay out of trouble.'"

"That's interesting," the pastor noted.
"I feel the same way about what you do.
For me, astronomy all boils down to
'Twinkle, twinkle, little star, how I wonder
what you are.'"

You know it's been said, The Bible is like
the ocean. You can wade in it, feed from
it, live on it, or swim in it. But those who
take the time to learn its truths and
practice them will be changed forever.

It has always been fascinating to me
that the Bible is simple enough for a child
to read, yet too deep for a scholar to
Master.

(Some excerpts taken from "Our Daily Bread")

22:18 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.