Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

05/06/2012

GOD WILL DO THE REST

Scripture:

"If you remain in me and my words remain in you,
you may ask what you will and you shall get it"
John 15:7

Reflection:

In a book containing a collection of letters that
children have addressed to God, a little boy named
Eric writes, "Dear God, is it okay to talk to you
even when I don't want anything? Love, Eric."

It's not only okay, Eric, it's probably best. All you
need to do is to enter into union with God lovingly,
trustingly, prayerfully, and God will provide you with
whatever you need to make you whole. Make the
connection, get in touch and stay in touch -- Spirit-
to-spirit -- and God will do the rest.

Caryll Houselander, author of many books on
spirituality, wrote a letter to a friend who was having
difficulty praying. The following lines are from that
communique:

"I wanted to say I could perfectly understand the
sense of fear you feel about prayer, for I've had it too.
But I think that a simple desire on your part that God
should act in you as He wills is sufficient. I do not
think it need even be formulated in words. If you just
mean something without saying it, like, 'I don't feel
as if I trust you, but I do,' then God will do the rest,
and He will enter then into the darkness of your night
as the rays of the sun enter into the dark, hard earth,
driving right down to the roots of the tree"...

(from Sunday Sermons Online)

16:33 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.