Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

01/15/2010

DIARY OF A SNOW SHOVELER 2



Page Two

December 16
Ice storm this morning.  Fell on my behind
on the ice in the driveway putting down salt. 
Hurt like heck.  The wife laughed for an
hour, which I think was very cruel.


December 17
Still way below freezing.  Roads are too
icy to go anywhere.  Electricity was
off for 5 hours.  I had to pile the blankets
on to stay warm.  Nothing to do but stare
at the wife and try not to irritate her. 
Guess I should've bought a wood stove,
but won't admit it to her.  Man I hate it
when she's right.  I can't believe I'm
freezing to death in my own living room.


December 20
Electricity's back on, but had another
14 inches of the darn stuff last night. 
More shoveling!  Took all day.  The
lousy snowplow came by twice.
Tried to find a neighbor kid to shovel,
but they said they're too busy playing
hockey.  I think they're lying.  Called
the only hardware store around to see
about buying a snow blower and they're
out.  Might have another shipment in
March.  I think they're lying.  Bob says
I have to shovel or the city will have it
done and bill me.  I think he's lying.

December 22
Bob was right about a white Christmas
because 13 more inches of the white stuff 
fell today, and it's so cold, it probably
won't melt till August.  Took me 45 minutes
to get all dressed up to go out to shovel
and then I had to the bathroom.  By the
time I got undressed, went to the bathroom
and dressed again, I was too tired to shovel. 
Tried to hire Bob who has a plow on his truck
for the rest of the winter, but he says he's
too busy.  I think the jerk is lying.


December 23
Only 2 inches of snow today.  And it warmed
up to 0.  The wife wanted me to decorate the
front of the house this morning.  What is she,
nuts?!!  Why didn't she tell me to do that a
month ago?  She says she did but I think s
he's lying.


December 24
6 inches - Snow packed so hard by snowplow,
I broke the shovel.  Thought I was having a heart
attack.  If I ever catch the jerk who drives that
snowplow, I'll drag him through the snow by his neck
and beat him to death with my broken shovel. 
I know he hides around the corner and waits for
me to finish shoveling and then he comes down
the street at a 100 miles an hour and throws snow
all over where I've just been!  Tonight the wife wanted
me to sing Christmas carols with her and open our
presents, but I was too busy watching for the
stinking snowplow.

TOMORROW PAGE THREE (FINAL PAGE)

The comments are closed.