Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

01/14/2010

THIS IS A MUST READ FOR THE NEXT 3 DAYS!


DIARY OF A SNOW SHOVELER 1

Page One

December 8 - 6:00 PM
It started to snow.  The first snow
of the season and the wife and I
took our cocktails and sat for hours
by the window watching the huge
soft flakes drift down from heaven. 
It looked like a Grandma Moses
Print.  So romantic we felt like
newlyweds again.  I love snow!


December 9
We woke to a beautiful blanket
of crystal white snow covering
every inch of the landscape. 
What a fantastic sight!  Can
there be a more lovely place
in the whole world?  Moving
here was the best idea I've ever
had!  Shoveled for the first time
in years and felt like a boy again. 
I did both our driveway and the
sidewalks.  This afternoon the
snowplow came along and
covered up the sidewalks and
closed in the driveway, so I got
to shovel again.  What a perfect
life!

December 12
The sun has melted all our lovely
snow.  Such a disappointment! 
My neighbor tells me not to worry-
we'll definitely have a white
Christmas.  No snow on Christmas
would be awful!  Bob says we'll have
so much snow by the end of winter,
that I'll never want to see snow again. 
I don't think that's possible.  Bob is
such a nice man, I'm glad he's our
neighbor.


December 14
Snow, lovely snow!  8 inches last night. 
The temperature dropped to -20.  The
cold makes everything sparkle so. 
The wind took my breath away, but I
warmed up by shoveling the driveway
and sidewalks.  This is the life!  The
snowplow came back this afternoon
and buried everything again.  I didn't
realize I would have to do quite this
much shoveling, but I'll certainly get
back in shape this way.  I wish I
wouldn't huff and puff so.


December 15
20 inches forecast.  Sold my van and
bought a 4x4 Blazer.  Bought snow
tires for the wife's car and 2 extra shovels. 
Stocked the freezer.  The wife wants a
wood stove in case the electricity goes
out.  I think that's silly.  We aren't in
Alaska, after all.

TOMORROW PAGE TWO

The comments are closed.