Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

04/21/2006

Betrayal

Scripture:

"Judas Iscariot, one of the Twelve, approached the chief priests
with an offer to hand Jesus over to them. They were delighted to
hear it, and promised to give him money; and he looked for a way
of betraying him when the opportunity should occur" (Mk.
14:10-11).

Reflection:

I was watching TV the other night and was interested in watching something
on ABC's Prime Time, actually there was something on all three networks,
It was called the "Gospel of Judas" and I admit it peaked my interest.
Apparently there has been a discovery of an ancient papyrus that talks about
Judas, one of the followers of Jesus Christ. Somehow the conclusion was
drawn that Judas did not betray, Jesus Christ. There is no doubt about it,
Judas Iscariot, one of Jesus' closest followers, betrayed the Lord for money.
There is an important reason for this account of betrayal. For me I can
identify with Judas. First of all Judas made a decision to be a follower
of Jesus, I have also made this decision. As Judas I follow the teachings
and I follow the spirit of Christ. Also Judas made a decision to betray Jesus
Christ, unfortunately there are times when I betray Christ. I'm not talking
about the wrong word used, or the admiration of a beautiful woman, etc.
I'm talking about real betrayal, when I put money or things before the Lord,
when I see a homeless person in need and do nothing, when I do not love
my neighbor or my enemy, when I do not turn the other cheek, when I
show no compassion for others, when their are people who are starving
and I do nothing, when I am not a peacemaker but a war maker, when I watch
babies die and don't care, and finally when I don't love, I don't hate, but I just
don't care. That's when I, like Judas, betray my Lord. How about you,

Prayer:

Lord, thank You for Your grace and love. Help me to be a better person, and
a better Christian. Lord I want to follow You and no one else. Help me not
to betray You, but to embrace You. Help me not to follow others, or people
who interpret You, but to follow You and Your teachings. Lord let me serve
You and serve others. THANK GOD FOR BEING GOD!
In Jesus Name Amen.

04:46 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.