Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

06/13/2013

THE FOCUS OF MY DESIRES

Scripture:

Psalm 101:1-4

Reflection:

Brennan Manning says, to live by grace means
to acknowledge my whole life story, the light
side and the dark. In admitting my shadow side
I learn who I am and what God's grace means.
When I have experienced his grace, I humbly
sing songs of love and praise to God with all
 that I am.

I experience the grace most deeply when I have
acknowledged the shortcomings, temptations,
and desires that increase the distance between
me and God, instead of drawing me closer. I may
reject them, but the desire often lingers. The
psalmist recognizes the desires this world and
the ego holdes. I will be careful, while also crying
out to God for aid—His grace. That grace is
offered to each of us. It is offered to our shadow
side and light side. I will humbly bring us to our
knees in gratitude and praise.

Prayer:

Gracious God, I recognize my desires that put
distance between us. I cry out to you, and you
were there. I am yours. All of me. Amen

(The Covenant Home Alter, Daily Devotions,
author Jennifer Andersson)

01:33 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.