Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

06/10/2013

A FOCUS OF MY SENSE OF SAFETY


Scripture:

Psalm 3

Reflection:

When I was a young girl, I discovered the
coolest hiding place underneath the role of
bushes that ran alongside my church across
the street. I would go there to be alone, to have
a place that was just my. I felt safe, secure,
protected, close to God.

The psalmist sings, "that you, old Lord, are a
shield around me" (v.3, NLT). Often, when I call
on God for protection, I picture Him putting a
force field around me, warding off danger. Other
times, I see God as my hiding place, like the
bushes around my church I am seeking the
comfort of His embrace. There I feel safe, secure,
protected, unafraid.

"I lay down and sleep, yet I woke up in safety, for
the Lord was watching over me. I am not afraid"
(vv. 5-6. NLT)

Prayer:

Lord, you are my hiding place. You fill my broken
heart with songs of deliverance. You see how the
weak or strong. You never meant for me to walk
alone. Amen

(The Covenant Home Alter, Daily Devotion, author Jennifer Andersson)

14:02 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.