Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

09/29/2015

MILES OF SMILES

"I tell you solemnly, anyone who does not welcome the Kingdom

 

of God like a child will not enter it" (Mark 10:15).

 

The late great humorist, Erma Bombeck, told the story of what

 

happened to her in Church one Sunday. She said,

 

"I was focused on a small child who was turning around and

 

smiling at everyone. He wasn't gurgling, spitting, humming, kicking,

 

tearing the hymnals, or rummaging through his mother's handbag.

 

He was just... smiling.

 

"Finally, his mother jerked him about and in a stage whisper that

 

could be heard in a little theater off Broadway said: 'Stop that

 

grinning! You're in Church!' With that, she gave him a glare, and,

 

as the tears rolled down his cheek, the mother added, 'That's better,'

 

and returned to her prayers." Bombeck reflected, "We sing, 'Make

 

a joyful noise unto the Lord!' while our faces reflect the sadness of

 

one who has just buried a rich aunt who left everything to her

 

pregnant hamster."

 

She continued, "Suddenly I was angry. It occurred to me the entire

 

world is in tears, and if you're not, then you'd better get with it. I

 

wanted to grab this child with the tear-stained face close to me and

 

tell him about my God. The happy God. The smiling God. The God

 

who had to have a sense of humor to have created the likes of us.

 

I wanted to tell him He is an understanding God. One who

 

understands little children who turn around and smile in Church,

 

and even curious little children who rummage through their mothers'

 

handbags. I wanted to tell that little child that I too have taken a few

 

lumps for daring to smile in an otherwise solemn religious setting.

 

By tradition, I suppose, one wears faith with the solemnity of a

 

mourner, the mask of tragedy. What a fool, I thought, this woman

 

sitting next to the only sign of hope -- the only miracle left in our

 

civilization. If that child couldn't smile in Church then where was

 

there left to go?" -1

 

Indeed, where is there left to go?

 

(Sunday Sermons Online)

 

15:42 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.