Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

08/06/2014

FAITH IN THE WAITING

Scripture:

Psalm 130:5-8New International Version (NIV)
5 I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits,
    and in his word I put my hope.
6 I wait for the Lord
    more than watchmen wait for the morning,
    more than watchmen wait for the morning.

7 Israel, put your hope in the Lord,
    for with the Lord is unfailing love
    and with him is full redemption.
8 He himself will redeem Israel
    from all their sins.

Reflection:

The process of adopting our daughter, Selah, from Ethiopia
spanned three calendar years and taught me more about
waiting and counting on God than anything else I have ever
experienced. It was an exercise in complete dependency,
of putting my hope in God's word and then trusting God to
come through. At one point when the fatigue of endless
months of waiting threatened to level me, I taped Romans
8:26-28 to the door of her empty bedroom to remind me
where my help comes from.

May you cling to and count on these words today, too,
where ever and for however long-you wait: "The moment we
get tired in the waiting, God's Spirit is right alongside helping
us along. If we don't know how or what to pray, it doesn't
matter. He does are praying in and for us far better than we
know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps
us present before God"

Prayer:

God, my hope is in you as I move expectantly through this
day. May I be found faithful in the waiting-and certainly in the
hoping-as I count on you to finish what you began in my life Amen.

(Taken from The Covenant Home Altar, Kristin Lunsford author)
­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

15:08 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.