Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

11/14/2013

REBEL

God is always calling us back to him

Have you ever rebelled against God?

"My wayward children," says the Lord, "come back to
me, and I will heal your wayward hearts."
Jeremiah 3:22 NLT

"When I refused to confess my sin, I was weak and
miserable, and I groaned all day long. Day and night
your hand of discipline was heavy on me. My strength
evaporated like water in the summer heat. Finally, I
confessed all my sins to you and you stopped trying to
hide them. I said to myself, 'I will confess my rebellion
to the Lord.' And you forgave me! All my guilt is gone."
Psalm 32:3-5 NLT

"Create in me a new heart, O God. Renew a right spirit
within me... Restore to me again the joy of your salvation,
and make me willing to obey you."
Psalm 41:10,12

A tug-of-war with God

The rebel rejects the expectations, rules, and power of
the organization or individual holding authority.

Rebellion can be good, as when we rebel against unjust or
sinful societal pressure.

Rebellion is like a great tug-of-war; the authority figure holds
one end of the rope while the rebel pulls on the other. The
picture changes dramatically if we imagine the rebel's feet
being mired in quicksand. Such is rebellion against God.
God pulls on the rope, not to ruin our lives, but to lead us
toward safe footing.

From the TouchPoint Bible with commentary by Ron Beers
and Gilbert Beers (Tyndale) p 1257.

The comments are closed.