Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

05/09/2013

LOCKED IN

Scripture:

Read:  2 Timothy 2:1-10

"I suffer trouble... Even to the point of chains; but the
Word of God is not chained". 2 Timothy 2:9

Reflection:

Jean- Dominique Bauby’s memoir, "The Diving Bell and
the Butterfly", describes his life after a massive stroke
left him with a condition called "Locked-In Syndrome."
Although he was almost completely paralyzed, Bauby
was able to write his book by blinking his left eyelid. An
aide would recite a coded alphabet, until Bauby blinked
to choose the letter of the word he was dictating. The
book required about 200,000 blinks to write Bauby used
the only physical ability left him to communicate with
others.

For some of us, circumstances may have isolated us
from others. Lying in a hospital bed, serving time in a
prison, or being a shut-in can make us feel that we are
experiencing our own "locked-in syndrome." If this is
true for you, why not prayerfully reflect on some ways
you can still reach out to others.

As many of you know, I am a retired pastor and I am
also disabled. I am what they term “Homebound”. In
my thinking while I'm at home I am reminded of
2 Timothy 2:1-10. I especially think of verse nine,
"I suffer trouble... Even to the point of chains; but the
Word of God is not chained”. I am not chained, I find
freedom in thinking and doing ways that I can still
reach out to others. These reflections are but one way.
I am not isolated from others because through the power
of Jesus Christ I choose not to be. I choose the
freedom of Jesus Christ over the imprisonment of my
body.

Whether you are abled or disabled always reach out
to others don't experience the "locked-in syndrome",
experience the "live-free syndrome" through the power
and the love of Jesus Christ!

Prayer:

Almighty God I thank You for making me free. I thank
You through the power of Your word through the power
of the Holy Spirit through Your love I can reach out to
other that makes me free Lord. I pray that I can take
Your example of service and serve others in your name.  
In Your Holy Name       Amen

13:51 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.