Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

07/17/2012

HOPE THROUGH JOY

Scripture:

Psalm 30

Reflection:

Today's Psalm contains one of my favorite biblical passages.
I prefer the King James Version of the conclusion of verse five:
"weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning."

How many sleepless nights have I spent worrying over the unfair,
the unbearable, the insurmountable? In the darkness, worries take on
a life of their own, growing more oppressive by the minute.
"God, are you there?" I ask. But then, just before dawn, rest comes.
And when my eyes open to let in the morning light, I feel lighter.
Relief floods over me; the oppressiveness of the previous night lifted.

That's why I so appreciate the resolution of this verse. No matter how
hopeless life seems in the dark of night, each day brings a new
morning. It is a gentle reminder that God hears our weeping and
offers the possibility for joy each new morning.

Prayer:

Thank you, God, for not turning away from our weeping and
worrying but offering instead joy each new morning, Amen

(From Covenant Home Altar, July 7, 2012)

02:27 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.