Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

06/15/2011

ASSUMPTIONS

Scripture:

2 Peter 1:20 (Today's New International Version)

20 Above all, you must understand that
no prophecy of Scripture came about by
the prophet’s own interpretation of things.
2 Peter 1:20 (Today's New International
Version)

Reflection:

I have talked in the past about my
up bringing within the church.  Because
of the example and influence of my
mother, the church became a vital
part of  my life.  Through the church I was
presented with certain facts and from
these facts I made assumptions, and
here is where my problem begins.

As a Christian and Believer of the Holy
Scriptures, I become an interpreter of
God's Word.  There is a danger in my
interpretation.  That danger is reading
the text to fit my assumptions,  In
other words instead of my assumptions
being influenced by my reading, my
reading is influenced by my
preconceived assumptions.

There are 3 things that I have learned to
remember when I read God's Word. 

1st= The Holy Scriptures are "God
Breathed" and is perfect in every way.
It is my interpretation that is not.

2nd=  I read the Holy Scriptures through
the power of the Holy Spirit.

3rd=  Finally when we read together as
a church, as a community, we are
promised, by the grace of God, God's
won Spirit.

"When we submit together to it's truth,
live in it's hope, and rest in the love of
God Whose presence infuses it's
pages.  WITH THAT POWER, WE FIND
LIFE!

01:33 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.