Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

04/09/2011

MY SOUL IS TROUBLED

Lenten Meditation

Read John 12:27-33.

TEXT: (Jesus said) "'Now is My
soul troubled. And what shall I say?
'Father, save Me from this hour'?
But for this purpose I have come to
this hour'" (John 12:27).

Jesus has just told His disciples
why He has come to Jerusalem: He
is to suffer and die for the world. But
the thought is not easy for Jesus to
face. He says, "Now is My soul
troubled." We see that turmoil again
when He falls on His face in agony
in the Garden of Gethsemane
(see Luke 22).

Here He prays, "Father, glorify Your
Name." He doesn't ask the Father to
save Him from the cross but to use
His suffering and death on the cross
to glorify His Name. He wants people
to look at the cross and believe that
"God so loved the world that He gave
His only-begotten Son." In Gethsemane
God will send an angel to strengthen
His Son, but here He speaks to Jesus.
"I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again."

We all come face to face with
overwhelming situations and struggles
in life-heartbreak and loss, grief beyond
telling, the shadow of death-whether our
own or that of a loved one.

Jesus has come to this hour in His life
to be the answer to the overwhelming
situations in each of our lives. He will be
raised up to draw all men to Himself.
This was done so that in Jesus Christ
each of us might find the answer to our
problems, the courage for the trials we
face and the victory over Satan who
brought all these situations upon us
through his temptation.

PRAYER:

Heavenly Father, You glorified Your
Name in the sufferings of Your beloved
Son Jesus Christ. Glorify Your Name
through me as You give me strength
and courage to face the difficult times
in my life. I pray in Jesus' Name. Amen.

Lutheran Hour Ministries

18:23 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.