Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

11/18/2009

THE ELEPHANT IN MY ROOM

"If I had not confessed the sin in my
heart, my Lord would not have listened.
But God did listen! He paid attention
to my prayer."
Psalm 66:18-19 NLT

Reflection:

For us to attempt to approach
God without first addressing the
ways in which we have knowingly
offended and wronged him is an
exercise in futility. Sin is the
"elephant in the room" that must
be acknowledged and dealt with.
Once we do that, we again enjoy
sweet fellowship with God. Clean
and forgiven, we can be sure he
hears our pleas for help.

Prayer:

Lord, you do not listen to my
prayers when I have unconfessed
sin in my life. By your Spirit give
me the humility I need to take a
hard look at my soul. Show me,
God, any wrong attitudes and
actions that I need to acknowledge.
I want to be right with you. I want to
be close to you. Thank you for pledging
to hear those who humble themselves
and acknowledge their sin. May my sins,
which block me from you when I don't
confess them, become a bridge to you
as I admit them, forsake them, and
experience your forgiveness.

from the Praying God's Promises in
Tough Times by Len Wood (Tyndale) pp 8-9"

21:56 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.