Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

06/23/2009

CONFIDENT ASSURANCE

 

What is faith? It is the confident
assurance that what we hope for
is going to happen. It is the
evidence of things we cannot
see. God gave his approval to
people in days of old because
of their faith.
Hebrews 11:1-2 NLT

Certain of what I could not see!

I led my husband from one
room of the condominium to
the next.…"It's perfect for us.
Let's make an offer." That
evening Charles pored over
the numbers, making sure
we could afford it. "I think
we can swing it," he said.
I tingled at the thought of
moving into our very own
home. When the owners
accepted our offer, I whooped
with joy. "Thank you, Lord."

…"We don't have the money
now," Charles said soberly.
"You're right," I said. "We
don't have the money. But
God does. I'm going to ask
him for it." The sum of $10,000
came to mind. Each morning I
prayed in faith, "Lord, thank
you for the $10,000 now hidden,
to be revealed according to your will."

Was I treating God like a
vending machine? Pop in
a prayer and out slides the
answer. I remembered times
in my life when I have been
more focused on my own
agenda that on his will. But
somehow this time was
different. Our new home
had come into our lives in
such a miraculous way.
With a failed job and a
bankruptcy in our past, it
seemed we had lost our
chance to have a place of
our own. I prayed, believing,
sure of what I hoped for and
certain of what I did not see.

Two weeks before closing,
Charles flew to Kentucky to
visit his ailing parents. Charles
told Robert about the
condominium and my strange
prayer.

A knowing smile spread across
Robert's face. "I think I know the
answer," he said. "Mom just
released $10,000 to each of us
from Dad's estate. I planned to
tell you about it today."
What had been hidden was
now revealed—and the timing,
God's timing, was perfect.
Karen O'Connor

Adapted from The Prayer Bible
Jean E. Syswerda, general editor,
Tyndale House Publishers (2003), p 1369.

02:01 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.