Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

12/23/2008

ANOTHER BUSY CHRISTMAS?



Scripture:

Ecclesiastes 5:3 (New International Version)

3 As a dream comes when there are many cares,
so the speech of a fool when there are many words.

Christmas slippers

A woman died, leaving behind her
husband and one daughter. The
little girl soon became the very
apple of her daddy's eye. He l
oved to spend time with her,
but because he had to work,
they had only their evenings
together. After dinner each night
they would talk and play games;
sometimes she sang for him.
He treasured every moment.
One night the little girl announced,
"Daddy, I need to go to my room
early tonight. I have something
I have to do!"
He felt very disappointed, but he
let her go. She continued this
pattern for a solid month. Finally,
Christmas Day arrived, and early
in the morning she burst in on her
daddy and proudly displayed a pair
of crude crocheted slippers she had
made for him. It was this project that
had taken her away from her father
for every evening that month.
Her father thanked her warmly and
gave her a big hug, but then he said,
"Honey, I would rather have had you
with me all those lonely evenings than
to have these slippers, as beautiful
and comfortable as they are."

{1from the TouchPoint Bible with
commentaries by Ron Beers and
Gilbert Beers (Tyndale) p 1298
2from Breakfast with Jesus by Greg
Laurie (Tyndale) p 141 "}
Content is derived from the Holy Bible,
New Living Translation and other
publications of Tyndale Publishing House


Reflection:

Guess What? God wants us to be with
him more than our slippers! He wants
our dedication and devotion more than
our work. GOD WANTS US! Not a
part of us when we may have the time,
BUT ALL OF US ALL OF THE TIME!
While certainly God wants us to work
hard, it is important that we make
absolutely sure that our time,
doesn't so preoccupy us that we
in fact put our health in danger, our
relationships, or our time with
God. You see it is a matter of
balance, with God, not us, at the
center. This Christmas season
is a perfect time to put Christ
at the center of our lives.

Prayer:

Lord God my Savior Jesus Christ
help me to recognize that You are
the center of my life. As I work, as
I do all this worrying and running
around for Christmas, let me keep
in my mind that we are celebrating
your birth and you life. Guide me as
I make Your life the center of my life.
In Jesus Name Amen

The comments are closed.