Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

10/18/2008

TO BE LIKE NOAH


Scripture:

Genesis 6:11-22 (New International Version)
New International Version (NIV)

Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society
[NIV at IBS] [International Bible Society] [NIV at Zondervan] [Zondervan]

11 Now the earth was corrupt in God's sight and
was full of violence. 12 God saw how corrupt the
earth had become, for all the people on earth had
corrupted their ways. 13 So God said to Noah,
"I am going to put an end to all people, for the
earth is filled with violence because of them.
I am surely going to destroy both them and
the earth. 14 So make yourself an ark of
cypress [a] wood; make rooms in it and coat
it with pitch inside and out. 15 This is how you
are to build it: The ark is to be 450 feet long,
75 feet wide and 45 feet high. [b] 16 Make a
roof for it and finish [c] the ark to within 18 inches
[d] of the top. Put a door in the side of the ark
and make lower, middle and upper decks.
17 I am going to bring flood waters on the
earth to destroy all life under the heavens,
every creature that has the breath of life in it.
Everything on earth will perish. 18 But I will
establish my covenant with you, and you will
enter the ark—you and your sons and your wife
and your sons' wives with you. 19 You are to
bring into the ark two of all living creatures,
male and female, to keep them alive with you.
20 Two of every kind of bird, of every kind of
animal and of every kind of creature that moves
along the ground will come to you to be kept alive.
21 You are to take every kind of food that is to be
eaten and store it away as food for you and for them."

22 Noah did everything just as God commanded him.

Reflection:

I got to admit it, after reading Genesis 6:11-22, I wish
I was Noah. This beautiful man did everything God
commanded. You know, I wish I did that. Wouldn't
it be great to hit a bulls eye every time you had to make a
decision. Wouldn't be great to get our God's
approval on every decision. I mean look at Noah.
He worked, and worked, on that ark, while all the time
being scoffed and laughed at by his neighbors. And
through it all, Noah's sole concern was God. Why
can't I be more like that? My life is pulled in so many
different directions that I don't have enough time for
my God. What does that say about me? I have to
slow down, give my time to God and try to do
everything God commands. It's hard but I can do
it. Can You?

Prayer:

I love you God, and I need to slow down. I need
your help in making my priorities and decisions.
I need to make you my priority. Oh God give me
strength to do what you command. In Christ's
Holy Name Amen.

02:40 Posted in Blog | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.