Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

05/24/2008

Visit My Grave

A Poem

by Jim Rolfes, Commander
Plymouth County American Legion
Wasmer Post No. 241, LeMars, Iowa
Date unknown

I am a veteran laid under the sod,
I'm in good company, I'm up here with God.
Come to my grave and visit with me,
I gave up my life so you could be free,
Today is Memorial Day throughout this great land,
there's Avenue of Flages, parades and bands.
I can hear music, the firing squad and taps,
Here come my comrades, the Legionnaires the Bluecaps.
One of them just put a flag by my stone,
Some day he'll have one of his own.
They say they have plans, other things to do,
Don't put us aside as you would an old shoe.
Come visit my grave in this cememtery so clean,
This is what Memorial Day means.
There are many of us lying in wakeless sleep,
In cemeteries of green and oceans of deep.
It's sad that for many who fought so brave,
Now no one comes to visit their grave.
They died so you could have one whole year free,
Now can't you save this one day for me?
There are soldiers, sailors, airmen up there,
Who went into battle despite of their fear.
I've been talking up here to all of those men,
If they had to do it, they'd do it again.
Look, someone is coming to my grave,
It's my family, for them my life I gave.
My wife, I remember our last embrace,
As I left the tears streamed down your face.
I think you knew the day I shipped,
I wouldn't return, your life be turned about.
There's my daughter that I used to hold,
Can it be that you're nearly twenty years old?
Next month is to be your wedding day,
I wish I could be there to give you away.
My son's here, too, Dad's Little Man,
Always love your country, do for it what you can.
There is on thing that really did bother,
Seeing you grow without the aid of a father.
I wish you could all hear me from up above,
That a father's best gift to his children is love.
And what better way to prove my love to the end,
Is that a man lay down his life for his friends.
I see it's time for you to go home,
Your visit made it easier to remain here alone.
Don't cry honey, you look so sad,
Our children are free, you should be glad.
Daughter, thanks for the bouquet so cute,
Thank you son for the sharp salute.
Come again, I forgot, you can't hear me from up here,
But I know you'll come visit me next year.
I hope all veterans are treated this way,
On this day to remember, Memorial Day.

Path Of Peace

Path Of Peace
By Paul Mc Cann


Peace is an easy path to tread
Peace is where our fears are mislaid
Peace is beginning to restore
Peace for each man, woman and child
Peace for the troubled streets gone wild
Peace is for the old and the young
Peace in the end will overcome
Peace builds trust into a lifestyle
Peace is a friendly open hand
Peace is a place to understand
Peace in the end will overcome
Peace is for the old and the young
Peace is a legacy to leave
Peace is when we don't have to grieve
Peace is and end to all the hate
Peace is why we negotiate
Peace for all the victims of war

Paul McCann

The comments are closed.